Klan Trial Goes To Jury

By Stephanie Segretto

November 14 2008

BRANDENBURG, Ky.
The teenager attacked by members of the Ku Klux Klan testified in court Friday.

Jordan Gruver, 19, and the Southern Poverty Law Center are suing Ron Edwards, the leader of the Imperial Klans of America, and former member Jarred Hensley for an incident back in 2006 at the Meade County Fair.

Gruver testified that he suffered a broken jaw and permanent nerve damage to his left arm, and that he doesn’t leave his house and rarely sleeps more than two hours at a time or he has nightmares.

“They said, ‘Something, something, you little spic,’ and I tried to correct them. I am not a spic, I am a Native American,” Gruver said. “They kept on calling me spic, calling me border-hopper, you know, illegal immigrant… It came down to where Andrew Watkins was sitting there spitting at me and kicking dirt at me.”Gruver said he was surrounded and knew something bad was about to happen.He said a Klan member threw whiskey in his face, and that’s when he turned to walk away, but ran into another Klan member who he said hit him in the face, knocking him to the ground.”I went to cover up my face in the fetal position, like this,” he said. “I can’t tell you how many people was there. I can tell you that there was a lot of feet. All I could see was a bunch of feet. As they was kicking me, I prayed to myself. I said, ‘God, just please let me go. Please let me make it home.'”Edwards and Hensley are representing themselves. During closing arguments Friday, both said that what happened to Gruver has out of their control.”I cannot be responsible for what four people do on their own,” Edwards said. “That is basically violating my rights to belief. That’s what this is about. This isn’t about what I have done, even though the plaintiff’s counsel wants you to think that. I have not done anything. I have been legal in everything I have done.”The case is now in the jury’s hands.

Watch The Story

Source

Jury deliberations begin in Klan beating trial

November 14 2008

BRANDENBURG, Ky.

A substantial financial award would stop a Kentucky-based Ku Klux Klan organization in its tracks, a civil rights attorney told a jury on Friday in a civil trial against the group and two white supremacists.

“It’s all about the money. It’s all about the money,” said Morris Dees, lead attorney for the Southern Poverty Law Center, a group that tracks the Klan and other hate groups. “If you stop the money, you’ll cut the organization off.”

Dees and the center represent 19-year-old Jordan Gruver, an American citizen of Panamanian Indian descent, who sued the Imperial Klans of America, its Imperial Grand Wizard, Ron Edwards, and one of his former lieutenants, Jarred Hensley. A jury began to consider the case Friday after nearly three days of testimony. The lawsuit seeks more than $6 million.

Gruver testified on Friday that he suffered a broken jaw, bruised ribs and permanent nerve damage to his left arm after being beaten by four white supremacists at the Meade County Fair in July 2006. Two white supremacists who were initially part of the suit reached confidential settlements before trial.

Edwards and Hensley, both heavily tattooed with Confederate flags and Nazi and racist images, served as their own attorneys and declined to call any witnesses. In less than 10 minutes combined of closing arguments, the two men said they did not take part in beating Gruver.

Edwards asked the jury not to hold his beliefs against him.

“You may not agree with my beliefs, but that is your right,” Edwards said. “If these men had assaulted a white man, would this case be heard in this courtroom today?”

Hensley pleaded guilty in 2006 to attacking Gruver and served more than two years in prison. During closing arguments, Hensley told jurors he took the plea to avoid harsher charges and having a jury send him to prison because of his beliefs.

“Just because I wrote that I was guilty of it, doesn’t mean I did it,” Hensley said.

The three-day trial at the Meade County Courthouse focused on Gruver’s beating, the criminal history of members of the Klan and Edwards’ handling of his followers.

Throughout the trial, white supremacists wearing jackets covered in Nazi symbols watched inside the courtroom, while others lingered outside the courthouse amid the dozen sheriff’s deputies and state troopers providing security.

Gruver testified on Friday that he has nightmares about the attack and is afraid to leave the house. Gruver said he did not incite the attack and wanted nothing to do with Hensley and the other Klansmen at the fair.

“I knew you were not the nicest people in the world,” Gruver told Hensley during questioning.

“You put prejudice on my being a nice person because of my racial beliefs?” Hensley then asked.

“If you were the nicest people, you wouldn’t be calling me names,” Gruver said. “You’d be acting your age and not your shoe size.”

Source

I can only hope the jury does the right thing.

Putting White Supremacists out of business, is in everyones best interest.

3 Comments

  1. It is pathetic that we have such cross-eyed, inbred morons living in this day and age. These pointy-headed clowns are the lowest base form of scum, putrid mucus would be one step above them! What a waste of so-called “human” lives. These imbeciles should grow up and do real work, but then again, contributing to society was never their destiny. The KKK better be warned, they can groan and moan all they want, but the non-white population ain’t going nowhere. They are here to fight and be a thorn in their slimy sides.

  2. Yep, but CNN still refuses to report on Channon Christian and Christopher Newsome, because it’s “not news.” It’s not that uncommon, according to pundits like Leonard Pitts, not particularly newsworthy. Yet a bunch of hillbillies beat up this kid… front page!

  3. United States Crime Rates 1960 – 2007
    http://www.disastercenter.com/crime/uscrime.htm
    In 2007 there were 16,929 murders in the US about 46 each day.
    up from 9,110 murders in 1960 about 24 each day.

    That in itself is a major problem for everyone.

    1991 however there were 24,700 That was a really bad year. One has to wonder what happened in 91. Why was that year so outstanding. I suppose one could say things have gotten better.

    Why the news doesn’t cover all of them is another matter. One would have to ask CNN or the others such as Fox etc why they don’t. Only they can answer that for you.

    Each life lost is precious.
    Of course there are many things the Major News doesn’t carry and one has to wonder why.
    I have asked myself that question many times. Your guess is as good as mine.
    I do know that hate promotes violence. The more hate the more death.
    I also think it probably would be rather difficult to cover all the murders each day.
    I don’t think they would have enough air time to cover so many. That could be possibly the Answer as to why.


Comments are closed.

