Petition: Demand the release of Iraqi Female Writer/Blogger Hiba Al-Shamaree

URGENT UPDATE : Iraqi Female Writer/Blogger Hiba Al-Shamaree.

Layla Anwar
January 31, 2010

Following my previous post here, I just received this fresh information regarding Hiba Al-Shamaree this fellow Iraqi woman writer/blogger who has been kidnapped/arrested by the Iraqi forces on the 20th of January 2010 in the Sayyediya neighborhood in Baghdad.

Her sister has just updated her blog with the following :

Hiba Al-Shamaree is detained by Baghdad’s security forces on the charges of supporting the Iraqi Resistance (through her writings), she will be presented to the Criminal/Penal Court…

I am now authorized by Hiba to reveal her true identity to you.

Her name : Hanan Ali Ahmad Al Mashadani
Age : 33 years old
Profession: Doctor in Ophtalmology

The charges pressed against her : Inciting to violence and supporting the Resistance and according to informed sources this is a charge that falls under the clause of Terrorism as per the Iraqi law.


Hiba lived in Amman with us, but she insisted on going to Baghdad on a humanitarian mission/assignment, for a project financed by an Indian NGO called HMOK and which dealt with deaf and mute Iraqi children. Hiba was working as a consultant for this  Indian NGO.

They discovered her pen name Hiba Al Shamaree because when they arrested her she had her laptop with her which they confiscated and they saw the articles she has been posting on her blog.

Signed Huda Al Shamaree, sister of the doctor and writer Hiba Al Shamaree.

PLEASE, THIS IS AN URGENT PLEA — THEY WILL DESTROY HER. THEY WILL PUT HER THROUGH THE MOST HORRENDOUS OF TORTURES, including RAPE.  I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. I KNOW.


PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE HELP.


CONTACT ANYONE YOU CAN. HIBA’S ONLY CRIME IS HOLDING A BLOG. THAT’S ALL.


SOMETHING MUST BE DONE. YOU CAN’T LET A 33 YEAR OLD WOMAN DOCTOR BE RAPED, TORTURED AND KILLED THAT WAY. BECAUSE KILLED SHE WILL BE .


YOU CAN LET HER DIE  THAT WAY — JUST BECAUSE OF A BLOG. SHE WAS IN BAGHDAD FOR THAT INDIAN NGO, ON A HUMANITARIAN ASSIGNMENT FOR DEAF AND MUTE IRAQI CHILDREN. THIS IS NOT A TERRORIST/CRIMINAL ACT — HELPING DEAF AND MUTE CHILDREN.


HER BLOG IS JUST A BLOG. SHE HOLDS NO GUNS, SHE HAS NO WEAPONS, SHE IS NOT AFFILIATED TO ANY TERRORIST GROUP. SHE JUST HAD HER PEN.


PLEASE HELP HER, PLEASE HELP US.


DISTRIBUTE THIS AS WIDELY AS POSSIBLE.–   HRW, AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL, THE RED CROSS, U.N, ANYONE AND EVERYONE…


YOU OWE IT TO US, YOU BROUGHT “DEMOCRACY” TO IRAQ, YOU OWE IT TO US. YOU OWE IT TO SAVE THIS YOUNG IRAQI  WOMAN’S LIFE.

Source

The Petition as translated into English reads. Not a perfect translation but it gives you a very clear provocation for her arrest.

A solidarity campaign for the release of writer-Shammari gift detained because of their views by the government of Nuri al-Maliki
I went colleague (gift Shammari) at her residence in Jordan to Baghdad on a humanitarian mission is the rehabilitation of a group of children deaf and dumb for the benefit of the Iraqi Foundation HMOK Hindi as an international and a doctor’s eyes, but the government of Nuri al-Maliki was Ttrsdha because of her writings that reject the occupation of Iraq was arrested on charges of incitement against the Israeli government has brought against her charge (terrorism) because of her writings.
We, the undersigned in the hold below Nuri al-Maliki and Jalal Talabani, and the Council of Representatives, and all the military serving in Iraq is responsible for maintaining the life of our colleague (gift Shammari), whose real name is Dr. Hanan Ali Ahmed al-Mashhadani (33) years, and demand her release immediately the name of (Democratic) claimed by forces foreign occupation and local communities in Iraq, and for that we have signed the below

To sign go to this link.

http://www.gopetition.com/online/33750.html

This is an absolute crime against freedom of speech.

No one can say Israel doesn’t play a part in the occupation of Iraq.

Seems they play a large part in it if a simple blogger can be put in prison for writing about them, in another country no less.

We cannot tolerate this type of behavior from any country anywhere. We must protect our press, our blogger’s, our freedom of speech around the world.

Please pass this on to everyone you know.

You could be next to put in prison for simply writing a blog.

Helping this woman is helping ourselves.

Putting this woman in prison is a CRIME.

Update February 1 2010

Hiba Al-Shamaree is no criminal.

I have just finished reading her entire blog.

I saw nothing that makes her a criminal in any way.

I will post her first entry however. Of all the things she brings to light this is the most heartbreaking. The translation is not perfect but it tells the story very well.  It is not a new story but it does describe how the US treated prisoners.  I think it is important to know at least one of the stories  Hiba Al-Shamaree wrote about. We all know of the torture that took place in Abu Ghraib prison. This is one more. This is how the women were treated.

The story of Nadia

You may forget Nadia, the girl who was raped dogs occupied in Abu Ghraib prison, notorious, and to your memories revived this story on the tongue did not Tertm when they emerge from prison into the arms of her family, like a prisoner of any aggrieved injustice Tquih fire and the fire of longing for his family simply.

Nadia had fled as it exits the prison, not because of the shame that Silahakha by the perpetration of a crime and entered prison, but because of what has happened in Iraqi prisoners of abuse and rape and torture at the hands of American mercenaries in the Abu Ghraib prison; where the walls tell the sad stories; however, that ischemia Nadia is the “truth” and not “story”!

Began, “Nadia,” her novel as the “center” saying: “I was visiting a relative of mine Vfujina the U.S. occupying forces raided the house and Tvtcheh to find a quantity of light weapons are based on evacuated to arrest everyone in the house, including me, and vainly tried to persuade the translator who had been with the patrol I have a guest of America, but my attempts failed. I cried and begged and I fainted from the intensity of fear during the road to Abu Ghraib prison. ”

Complement Nadia: “They put me in a dirty cell, dark and lonely and I expect you to be a short period I was arrested after the investigation proved that I have not committed a crime.”

She adds, tears spilling down her cheeks a sign of sincerity and an expression of horror they have suffered: “The first day was heavy and I did not used to smell unpleasant as the cell was damp and dark and more from the fear that has been growing on me quickly. The laughter of the soldiers outside the cell that makes me feel more afraid, I was terrified that awaited me, for the first time I felt I was in trouble very difficult and I entered a world unknown parameters will not get out of it as it entered. the midst of this whirlpool of feelings of different ways I heard a female voice accent of an Arab soldier in the American occupation army Immediately she question: “I did not think that arms dealers in Iraq from the women. ”

Once I spoke to explain to her the circumstances of the incident so harshly beat me I cried and screamed “God .. and God wronged wronged.” Then the soldier Bimtari stream of expletives that I never expected to be released under any circumstances, and then took me and tells mockery of it was watched by satellite throughout the day, and American technology that can track their enemies even inside their bedrooms!.

When she laughed she said: “I Otabek until you live a sex with your husband!”.

I said to her voice confused: I’m not married. Vdrepettni for more than an hour and forced me to drink a glass of water I learned later that a heavily sedated and had not the horizon only after two or more I find myself Jrdoe of my clothes, I knew immediately that I have lost nothing would be able to all the laws of the land be returned to me, I’ve been raped. Vantaptni a fit of hysteria, and you beat my head against the wall firmly that the income of more than five soldiers, led by soldier and beat him up and on successive rape me laughing amid loud music. As days passed, a repetition of the raped almost daily and they invent new ways each time more brutal than its predecessor. ”

It adds to describe the horror of the actions of the American criminals: “After almost a month entered the Negro soldier and threw me by two of clothing and the U.S. military said on Arab broken accent that took me buzzing and after putting a bag in my head to the health facilities where the pipes of cold water and hot and asked me to shower and closed the door and went away. In spite of all that I felt the fatigue and pain, despite the large number of bruises scattered in different parts of my body but I’ve poured some water on my body, and before the end came Asthamami Nigger I felt scared and beaten on his face Baliina response was harsh and He raped me cruelly and spit in my face and came back, accompanied by two others and they have Birjai to the cell, and continued treat me this way to end rape me ten times in a few days, which affected my health! ”

Nadia and complement revealed atrocities against American women in Iraq: “After more than four months, I received a female soldier, known by her with the rest of the soldiers that her name was Mary, and she told me that you are now in front of a golden opportunity today Fissezorna If high-ranking officers have dealt with them positively may call released, especially we are sure of your innocence. ”

I said to her: “If you’re innocent, why do not you shoot me go?!”.

I shouted nervously: “The only way to ensure that you get out is to be positive with them!”.

And took me to health facilities and oversaw the Asthamami heavy sticks her hand and hit me whenever it refused to comply with its orders and then gave me a box cosmetics and cautioned me from crying so as not to spoil the Zinti, and then took me to a small room empty except for a bed to the ground and returned an hour later, along with four soldiers carrying cameras and the to take off her clothes and took to attacking a man like the laughter of soldiers and the music loud and four soldiers took pictures of all the conditions and focus on my face asking me a smile and only killed me, and took a gun from one of her colleagues and fired four bullets near my head and vowed to settle the fifth bullet in my head after the succession The four soldiers raped me, which made me consciousness and woke up to find myself in the cell and the effects of nails and teeth and stings cigars everywhere in my body! ”

Nadia depends on the continuing narrative of tragic novel wiping away tears and then completed: “a day after Mary came to tell me that I was cooperating and that I’m out of prison, but after watching the film image”!

She adds: “I saw the film a pain frequency (Khalguetm have to enjoy you) Here I experienced the anger and attacked them, despite my fear of the reaction, and does not fall the soldiers killed her, and that left me even fell on the soldiers and then beaten out not all of them approached me one more of the month I spent in prayer and supplication to the Almighty to save me Baari than I was.

Then I got Mary with a number of soldiers and gave me the clothes you were buzzing when arrested Ogulwni in the American car and threw me on the highway to the city of Abu Ghraib and me ten thousand dinars. Then returned to the house not home, I was close to where you left me in it, and I know the reaction of my family I chose to visit a relative of mine to know what the situation during my absence and I discovered that my brother set up a funeral to me more than four months, No new dead, I understood that the knife honor waiting for me, I went to Baghdad and has a family of good people Biiwaii and worked with a maid and nanny for their children! ”

Wonders Nadia pain and grief and bitterness: “It will heal Gll? It will restore my virginity? And in all my fault what happened? And the guilt of my family and my tribe? In the gut, children do not know son is he?”

Now your right to know where is it, my answer as one of suicide bombers who blew themselves up on a U.S. patrol in the Abu Ghraib where the violation of view the first time God rest her soul rest in peace and curl

The woman who wrote this is now in prison.

She must be wondering if this is going to happen to her as well.

How anyone could see this woman as a threat to anyone is beyond me.

All she did was write a blog. She voiced her opinion.

I encourage you all to do something to help have this woman released.

Write the White house , Write you members of Government. Write Amnesty International. Write to the media and see if they will cover this story.

Write to or call anyone who may be able to help this woman. Write the UN even.

This so called Iraqi law that put her in prison should be amended and the sooner the better. That is not a fair or just law that is pure BS.

This so called law is based on oppression of free speech.

Iraq a democracy what a joke that is.  US occupation nothing more. Nothing less.

You may not agree with everything the women wrote, but by God you had better fight for her right to say it.  The right to free speech should be the right of every person on the planet.

Also another petition to sign from Reporters Without Borders. Reporters in Iraq who are in prison, also need your help. Go to the site below to read what has been happening in Iraq and sign this  petition as well. Just look under the Iraqi Flag to the right of the page.

Security forces now biggest enemy for Iraqi journalists

At least 77 journalists and media assistants have been kidnapped in Iraq since March 2003. Twenty-three of them have been murdered, 40 have been released and 13 are still being held by their abductors.

Thank you all for helping. Than you all for signing the petitions as well.

Please  pass this on to all of your friends.

This is what the Harper Government may do to Canadians all for the appeasement of Israel. Do not let this happen anywhere in the world.

Israel: Attempting to take away Canadians Freedom of Speech

Published in: on January 31, 2010 at 7:32 pm  Comments Off on Petition: Demand the release of Iraqi Female Writer/Blogger Hiba Al-Shamaree  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
